69 Comments
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

What happened to hemsley and hemsley did you both have different interests or drift apart? I see jasmine is very into ayurveda, do you have an interest in it too?

Expand full comment

What is *the* go-to snack you make when you want to feel better about life? xo

Expand full comment
author

yes yes yes! Hello Emma. I try to ‘eat the frog’ aka do what I really DON’T want to do first thing. I don’t always eat that frog but when I do, it’s a gigantic relief. A lovely big phew and weight off my mind. I talk about this in my first post in this newsletter ‘ 37 things I’ve learnt so far at life’. Hope you enjoy!

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Do you and Jasmine still have a working relationship? I follow both of you but feel like I haven't seen you together for a long while now. I hope all is well.

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

What are your current favorite soup recipes?

Also, what are you favorite packed lunches?

Expand full comment

What would your last meal be ?

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Where is the recipe for sticky nuts and seeds? I swear I screenshotted from your insta a while back and now I can’t find it

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

What are your favourite places to visit outside London (or in London) to replenish the soul & don't need a car to access! Looking for some daytrips and getaways over winter to get some space from the city.

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Do you have any advice for eating for low energy levels/women's hormonal fluctuations? 😊

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Hi Melissa! Just wanted to say you always so great, you have the best style - particularly love your dresses 👗 do you have any go-to brands/places you shop?

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

What are your favourite books you’ve read this year?

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

If you could live anywhere, where would it be? Does having great restaurants affect where you choose to holiday or do you cook when you’re away too?

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

What is your daily morning routine when you wake up and also your evening routine before you go to bed, to help you prepare for the day, relax etc?

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Hi Melissa! How do you overcome a lack of inspiration in the kitchen?

Expand full comment

Hoe do you balance the work load and being online with your mental health and not feeling wired. I'm just about to release my podcast and start a substack and I'm worried about always being online! So happy you've come on here melissa xx

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Would love your Spotifyt playlist for cooking in the kitchen?

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Do you live gluten-free?Just noticed that a lot of your recipes are wheat free :)

Expand full comment
Oct 13, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Have you been to Japan?

What Japanese food would you like to try if you come to Japan ?

You inspire me.

Sending love from Tokyo. xoxo

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Hi Melissa, thanks for all you do..ok- contraversial - crispy bacon bits, date syrup, tahini and buckwheat groats, on my blended oatmeal. It is sublime..ok, I know we are a strange lot here in australia...Melissa have you found this substack helpful for yourself? Seems to be very popular, helping others can be so very cathartic..Tracey

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

I live on my own and am really struggling with my evening meals. I am recovering from cancer, work full time and am trying to be more mobile so am struggling finding time to shop and cook, do you have any suggestions/ advice x

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Fave part of Cornwall? I love the South Coast and lost gardens of heligan in particular!

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

How much do you take "health" into account when devising a recipe? For example do you try keep fat to a minimum? Or do you purely focus on flavour?

Expand full comment
Oct 12, 2022Liked by Melissa Hemsley

Oooh, I've been topping my porridge with stewed quetsch plums and cinnamon, maple syrup and sunflower seeds

Expand full comment
author

Natasha that sounds fantastic. I definitely didn’t take enough advantage of stone fruit this year! and thanks for reminding me how much I love sunflower seeds, I usually go for pumpkin seeds forgetting about the sunflowers!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Lizzie, ah thank you. I like dresses as I’m quite lazy at ‘matching clothes’, love that dresses you can just throw on and I don’t own an iron which is why I go for patterns!

Brands I love

Kemi Telford, Justine Tabak, Ridley London, Pink City Prints - all women owned! I also love East clothing as my friend Jo designs them all

Expand full comment
author

Hello Fiona - I’m trying to pick 1 - can’t do it - I’ll say these 2

Mum’s tinola recipe - here’s the recipe - add chicken if you like https://www.instagram.com/p/B-NONVon-lh/?hl=en-gb

And Filipino Pancit noodles - we call them the ‘party noodles’ in our family. Recipe is in my book Eat Green. Hope you enjoy!

Expand full comment
author

Hi Anne, thanks for your question. I focus on flavour, veg, heartiness and ease. I’m a fan of fat. Nutritionists talk a lot about how we need good quality fat in our meals so there’s always a source of fat in my recipes from butter, olive oil, coconut oil to nuts, seeds, cheese etc. I also like to focus on variety - lots of gut health experts suggest we aim for 30+ plant based foods a week so I try my best to offer recipes that have a diverse range of veg and plant based foods. Thank you!

Expand full comment
author

Hello Sophie, yes you’re right most of my recipes are naturally gluten free as most ingredients I cook with are naturally gluten free (vegetables, beans, pulses etc) but I love sourdough bread and a good pizza when I’m out and about. Craving a pizza now actually now I’m thinking about it!

Expand full comment
author

thank you Emma - It would have to be my Mum’s filipino tinola soup - full of veg, onions, garlic, ginger and deliciously hearty and brothy. Here’s the recipe https://www.instagram.com/p/B-NONVon-lh/?hl=en-gb

Expand full comment
author

Hello Ruth, thanks so much. Different interests we wanted to pursue! I am interested in Ayurveda but as I haven’t studied Ayurveda and I’m not a qualified expert, I don’t share it. My focus is food waste, community cooking, sustainability, seasonal eating and hopefully inspiring people with more kitchen confidence!

Expand full comment
author

Hello Emma, here’s 2 I love

Slice up a beautiful british apple (perfect season for enjoying them) into big wedges - dollop with your favourite nut butter, sprinkle over some granola or failing that some nuts and seeds and a flourish of cinnamon - YUM.

Another I love in my book Feel Good - is the No Bake Chocolate Date Bar - hits the spot every time. Very good for your brain concentration when you’re on a writing sprint - can make once a month and keep sliced up in the fridge to pop straight in your mouth!

Expand full comment
author

I’ll find it!

Expand full comment
author

Hiya Chloe, I’ve really enjoyed these ones below - how about you? I’m ready to dig into an autumn pile. In my area, we have ‘little libraries’ on each street where everyone shares books, drops them off and picks them up, it’s a beautiful way to share

Lessons in chemistry

Staying alive in toxic times

Eating to extinction

Desmond Tutu’s The book of Forgiving

Rooted - sarah Langford

Sarah Wilson’s This One Wild & Precious Life - a re read

Expand full comment

Are you prone to procrastination (like me!) and if so what are your tips for staying motivated and achieving your goals. Thanks Melissa! (This is Emma from walnut magazine by the way 😊)

Expand full comment

What is your favourite recipe from your mum’s repertoire?

Expand full comment

How do you meal prep 😂 I over complicate, over plan, buy the ingredients and always seem to forget and generate waste!

(So excited for this newsletter btw - thank you for creating so many helpful resources.)

Expand full comment